
“It is a curious commen-

tary on our society that 

we tolerate all degrees 

of explicitness in our lit-

erature and mass media 

as regards sex and vio-

lence, but the normal act 

of  breastfeeding is ta-

boo.” 

     - American Academy 

of Pediatrics 
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Most women return to work after giving birth to a child.  Because 

most are still breastfeeding their child, accommodations within 

the workplace are needed for pumping of breast milk.  Women 

may also need to breastfeed when out in places of public accom-

modation going about the business of daily life.  Vermont has 

laws that protect pregnant and nursing mothers.  This issue sum-

marizes those legal requirements.  As always, call with ques-

tions.  We are here to help.     Karen Richards 

Vermont Human Rights Commission  Newsletter  May 2017 



Did you know? 

In the first few months of life, ba-

bies need to breastfeed eight to 

twelve times in a 24-hour period.  

Nearly one-third of beneficial bac-

teria in a baby’s intestinal tract 

comes directly from mother’s milk, 

with an additional ten-percent 

coming directly from the skin on 

the mother’s breast.  

Idaho is the only remaining U.S. 

State that  doesn’t have a law pro-

tecting a mother’s right to breast-

feed in public.  

South Dakota and Virginia exempt 

breastfeeding mothers from public 

indecency or nudity laws.  

Only 17 states and Puerto Rico 

exempt or postpone jury duty for 

nursing mothers. 

Only two Canadian provinces 

have laws that protect breastfeed-

ing as a right.  They are British 

Columbia and Ontario.  

In 1984 the state of New York was  

the first state to amend its inde-

cent exposure statute to exclude 

breastfeeding of an infant.  

The State of Missouri protects the 

right to breastfeed in public, but 

requires that it be done “with as 

much discretion as possible.”  

In 2003 Jacqueline Mercado was 

reported to Child Protective Ser-

vices in Richardson, TX for having 

a photograph processed at the 

local drugstore of her breastfeed-

ing her 1-year old son. She was 

arrested and charged with “sexual 

performance of a child’ and tem-

porarily lost custody of her chil-

dren.  

In March 2008 the Vermont Hu-

man Rights Commission found 

Reasonable Grounds to believe 

that Mesa Air Group/Freedom Air-

lines discriminated against Emily 

Gillette when she was removed 

from a flight for refusing to cover 

her infant daughter’s head while 

breastfeeding.  

Public Accommodations 

On March 15, 2003 Act 117 amended 9 V.S.A. §4502, Vermont’s Fair 

Housing and Public Accommodations Law, to include protections for nursing 

mothers stating, “[n]otwithstanding any other provision of law, a mother may 

breastfeed her child in any place of public accommodation in which the 

mother would otherwise have a legal right to be.”  

This means that every mother has a civil right to breastfeed her child in 

places of public accommodation (schools, restaurants, stores, public 

transportation such as buses, taxis or airplanes, and other facilities serving 

the general public) when she enters to purchase or otherwise partake of the 

goods, facilities, or services offered. No one has the right to ask her to leave, 

to tell her to cover up, or tell her to stop breastfeeding.  

A woman has a right to breastfeed even if it makes other patrons of the 

business or the owners uncomfortable.  Breastfeeding is a natural process 

that improves both infant and maternal health and the frequency with which it 

is required during infancy necessitates accommodation of this practice.  That 

is the purpose behind the law. 

If you are a breastfeeding mother who has been denied access or requested 

to leave a place of public accommodation for breastfeeding your child, you 

can contact the Vermont Human Rights Commission to file a Complaint of 

Discrimination.  

 

“Never be afraid to nurse in public. If people don’t see it, it will  never be-

come normalized.” - nourishingourchildren.org 

 

  
  
 

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/09/139/04502
http://hrc.vermont.gov/


 

Employment 

In May 2008, amendments were made to Vermont’s labor law requiring that an employer provide a nursing mother, for up 

to three years after the birth of a child, (1) reasonable time, compensated or uncompensated, throughout the workday to 

express breast milk; and (2) provide a private space that is not a bathroom stall. Further, an employer cannot discriminate 

or retaliate against an employee who chooses to exercise her rights under the law. Some employers may be exempt if 

providing time or space to express breastmilk would substantially disrupt operations.  

On March 23, 2010, amendments were made to section seven of  the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA) requiring 

employers to provide “reasonable break time” for a nursing mother to express breastmilk for one year after the birth of a 

child. As with State law, employers are also required to provide a private space that is not a bathroom stall and cannot 

discriminate or retaliate against an employee who chooses to exercise her rights under the law.   

In September 2014 The Vermont Department of Health held a breastfeeding symposium in Montpelier to discuss chal-

lenges still faced by working, breastfeeding mothers. At this symposium, Cindy Twombly, a public health nurse for the 

State of Vermont told the Burlington Free Press that “closet or bathroom breastfeeding and pumping has become the 

norm for some working mothers.” And, that, “she knows women who say they are taking a cigarette break but are really 

pumping breastmilk for their baby in secret.” If this is true, much more education needs to be provided to employers and 

employees about the rights of breastfeeding mothers in the workplace. 

With over seventy percent of new mothers returning to work and many of them breastfeeding at a rate above the national 

average, there needs to be more education for employers on the benefits of supporting nursing mothers. The benefits are 

not just for the child and breastfeeding mother but for the overall benefits to their business including lowering employee 

turnover and absenteeism while improving productivity, morale and loyalty.  

In a related area, recognizing the work remaining to be done to support pregnant and nursing mothers in the workplace, 

the Legislature passed and Governor Scott signed Act 21, otherwise known as H.136, on May 4, 2017  making it an un-

lawful employment practice for an employer to deny a reasonable accommodation for an employee’s pregnancy-related 

condition. A reasonable accommodation request could be, but is not limited to: more frequent bathroom breaks, having 

water at a workstation, being provided a chair versus standing, or a reduced or flexible work schedule, etc.  

For women who believe they have been discriminated against or denied a reasonable accommodation in the workplace 

based on being a nursing or expectant mother, there are places you can go for help, they are:  

• Non-state government employees that are a nursing or expectant mother can contact the Vermont Attorney General, Civil Rights 

Unit  to discuss filing a complaint of discrimination in employment.  

• State government employees that are a nursing or expectant mother can contact the Vermont Human Rights Commission to dis-

cuss filing a complaint of discrimination in public accommodations and/or employment.  

• Any employed, nursing or expectant mother can additionally contact the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission to file a 

complaint of discrimination in employment.  

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/21/005/00305
https://www.dol.gov/whd/nursingmothers/Sec7rFLSA_btnm.htm
http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2018/Docs/ACTS/ACT021/ACT021%20As%20Enacted.pdf
http://ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights/employment-law.php
http://ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights/employment-law.php
http://hrc.vermont.gov/how-to-file
https://www.eeoc.gov/employees/charge.cfm


Contact Us 

Vermont Human Rights Commis-

sion 

14-16 Baldwin Street 

Montpelier, VT 05633-6301 

Phone: 802.828.1625 

            800.416.2010 

Fax:      802.828.2481 

Email: human.rights@vermont.gov 

Visit us on the web at  

hrc.vermont.gov 

 

 

 

RESOURCES                 

Vermont Human Rights Commission       National Conference of State Legislatures—Breastfeeding State laws      

  

Vermont Law Help            Vermont Workplaces Support Nursing Moms FAQ Sheet 

 

Vermont Department of Health         U.S. Department of Labor, Wage & Hour Division 

 

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission    21 V.S.A. § 305 Nursing mothers in the workplace 

 

Vermont Attorney General Civil Rights Unit      Act 21. Relating to accommodations for pregnant employees 

• Employers supporting nursing mothers rights to express breastmilk see a decrease in 

employee absenteeism, and an increase in productivity.  

• In 2008 an average annual savings for employers equaled $400 per breastfed baby 

with lower medical costs. 

• Discomfort of coworkers and discussing the subject of breastfeeding  or pumping milk 

with supervisors is a top challenge to breastfeeding mothers.  

• Employers must provide breastfeeding mothers with a private space to express 

breastmilk that is not a bathroom stall.  

• Employers without a breastfeeding mother on staff are not required to have a desig-

nated space for breastfeeding mothers.  

• Mothers may breastfeed their children in any place of public accommodation they 

have a legal right to be. 

• Places of public accommodation include, but are not limited to: schools, restaurants, 

stores, hotels, theaters, municipal buildings, airports, etc.  

• On July 1, 2017 it will be unlawful for an employer within the state of Vermont to deny 

a reasonable accommodation for an employee’s pregnancy-related condition.  

• Breastmilk boosts a baby’s immune system helping to fight viral, bacterial, and para-

sitic infections.  

• For every year a mother breastfeeds, her risk of developing invasive breast cancer is 

reduced by six percent. There is some research that indicates longer breastfeeding is 

also linked to a reduction in ovarian cancer.  

• It takes only about 10-15 minutes (using a double breast pump) to empty both 

breasts of milk approximately three times a day.  

• In 2013 the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that 77 percent of new 

mothers are breastfeeding their babies.  

mailto:human.rights@vermont.gov
http://hrc.vermont.gov/
http://hrc.vermont.gov/
http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/breastfeeding-state-laws.aspx
https://www.vtlawhelp.org/work
http://women.vermont.gov/sites/women/files/pdf/Nursingwebfactsheet.pdf
http://www.healthvermont.gov/breastfeeding
https://www.dol.gov/whd/nursingmothers/
https://www.eeoc.gov/employees/charge.cfm
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/21/005/00305
http://ago.vermont.gov/divisions/civil-rights.php
http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2018/Docs/ACTS/ACT021/ACT021%20As%20Enacted.pdf
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